Pasar al contenido principal

page search

Biblioteca Northeastern Quebec Agreement.

Northeastern Quebec Agreement.

Northeastern Quebec Agreement.

Resource information

Resource Language
ISBN / Resource ID
License of the resource

The Northeastern Quebec Agreement (NEQA) settles the land claims of the Naskapi Indian band, exchanging their claims, rights and territorial interests for other rights and benefits. Signatories to the Agreement include the Naskapi Indian Band, the Government of Quebec, the James Bay Energy Corporation, the James Bay Development Corporation, the Quebec Hydro-Electric Commission (Hydro-Quebec), the Grand Council of the Crees (of Quebec), the Northern Quebec Inuit Association, and the Government of Canada.Under the Agreement the territory was divided into three categories. Category I lands define areas for the exclusive use and benefit of Aboriginal people. Category II lands belong to the province, but Native governments share management for hunting, fishing and trapping, tourism development and forestry. Native people have exclusive hunting, fishing and trapping rights. Category III forms a special type of Quebec public lands, in which both Native and non-native people may hunt and fish subject to agreed regulations. On these lands, Aboriginal groups have exclusive rights to harvest certain aquatic species and fur-bearing mammals and have the right to participate in the administration and development of land. Commercial developers also have specific rights to develop resources on these lands, but the federal or provincial governments have an obligation to assess the impact of those resource developments.The provisions in the agreement, relating to environmental impact and social effects of development, establish two advisory committees who have the task of reviewing environmental issues, policies and regulations as well as advising governments.Certain rights are granted under the agreement for harvesting wildlife. In order to administer review and regulate wildlife harvesting, a coordinating committee is set up which comprises members from the provincial and federal governments and representatives of the three native groups.

Share on RLBI navigator

Authors and Publishers

Author(s), editor(s), contributor(s)


Data Provider