Pasar al contenido principal

page search

Community Organizations Government of South Africa
Government of South Africa
Government of South Africa
Governmental institution


South Africa

Dutch traders landed at the southern tip of modern day South Africa in 1652 and established a stopover point on the spice route between the Netherlands and the Far East, founding the city of Cape Town. After the British seized the Cape of Good Hope area in 1806, many of the Dutch settlers (Afrikaners, called "Boers" (farmers) by the British) trekked north to found their own republics in lands taken from the indigenous black inhabitants. The discovery of diamonds (1867) and gold (1886) spurred wealth and immigration and intensified the subjugation of the native inhabitants. The Afrikaners resisted British encroachments but were defeated in the Second South African War (1899-1902); however, the British and the Afrikaners, ruled together beginning in 1910 under the Union of South Africa, which became a republic in 1961 after a whites-only referendum. In 1948, the Afrikaner-dominated National Party was voted into power and instituted a policy of apartheid - the separate development of the races - which favored the white minority at the expense of the black majority. The African National Congress (ANC) led the opposition to apartheid and many top ANC leaders, such as Nelson MANDELA, spent decades in South Africa's prisons. Internal protests and insurgency, as well as boycotts by some Western nations and institutions, led to the regime's eventual willingness to negotiate a peaceful transition to majority rule. The first multi-racial elections in 1994 following the end of apartheid ushered in majority rule under an ANC-led government. South Africa has since struggled to address apartheid-era imbalances in decent housing, education, and health care. ANC infighting came to a head in 2008 when President Thabo MBEKI was recalled by Parliament, and Deputy President Kgalema MOTLANTHE, succeeded him as interim president. Jacob ZUMA became president after the ANC won general elections in 2009; he was reelected in 2014.

South Africa is a parliamentary republic.

Source: CIA World Factbook



Displaying 6 - 10 of 94

Spatial Planning and Land Use Management Act: Bylaws for Mbizana (G.N. No. 4 of 2016).

Febrero, 2016

This By-Law made under the Spatial Planning and Land Use Management Act, 2013, applies to all land within the geographical area of the Mbizana Municipality, including land owned by the state. The By-law shall, in case of conflict, in principle prevail over other legislation. The By-law requires a municipal spatial development framework to be made and provides with respect its preparation and public participation procedures. The Municipality may also adopt a local spatial development framework for a specific geographical area of a portion of the municipal area.

Property Valuation Act

Mayo, 2014
África austral

An act to provide for the establishment, functions and powers of the Office of the Valuer-General; to provide for the appointment and responsibilities of the Valuer-General; to provide for the regulation of the valuation of property that has been identified for land reform as well as property that has been identified for acquisition or disposal by a department; and to provide for matters connected therewith.


National Norms and Standards for the Remediation of Contaminated Land and Soil Quality in the Republic of South Africa (GN. 331 of 2014).

Abril, 2014
África austral

This Notice of the Minister of Water and Environmental Affairs, made under section 7 of the National Environmental Management: Waste Act, 2008, contains national norms and standards for the remediation of contaminated land and soil quality. The requirements set out in these norms and standards apply to an owner of land or any person who undertakes site assessment and remediation activity in terms of that Act.

Deeds Registries Amendment Act, 2013

Legislation & Policies
Diciembre, 2013

To amend the Deeds Registries Act, 1937, so as to provide discretion in respect of the rectification of errors in the name of a person or the description of property mentioned in deeds and other documents; to provide for the issuing of certificates of registered title taking the place of deeds that have become incomplete or unserviceable; to substitute an obsolete reference; to substitute an outdated heading; to delete reference to the repealed Agricultural Credit Act, 1966; to further regulate the updating of deeds in respect of the change of names of companies, close corporations and the