Skip to main content

page search

Community Organizations Government of the Cayman Islands
Government of the Cayman Islands
Government of the Cayman Islands
Governmental institution


Cayman Islands

The Cayman Islands were colonized from Jamaica by the British during the 18th and 19th centuries and were administered by Jamaica after 1863. In 1959, the islands became a territory within the Federation of the West Indies. When the Federation dissolved in 1962, the Cayman Islands chose to remain a British dependency. The territory has transformed itself into a significant offshore financial center.

The Cayman Islands are an overseas territory of the UK.



Displaying 1 - 5 of 22

Registered Land (Amendment) Law, 2017 (No. 36 of 2017).

May, 2017
Cayman Islands

This Law amends the Registered Land Law with respect to plans and procedures for subdivision of land. The Act also amends the principal Act in Part V by deleting the heading “Division 5 - Easements, Restrictive Agreements, Profits and Licences” and substituting the following heading “Division 5 - Easements, Positive and Restrictive Covenants, Profits and Licences” and by replacing section 93 on validity and enforcement of registered positive covenants and restrictive covenants.

Amends: Registered Land Law (2004 Revision). (2003)