Maraeroa A and B Blocks Claims Settlement Act 2012 (No. 52 of 2012). | Land Portal

Resource information

Date of publication: 
July 2012
Resource Language: 
ISBN / Resource ID: 
License of the resource: 
Copyright details: 
© FAO. FAO is committed to making its content freely available and encourages the use, reproduction and dissemination of the text, multimedia and data presented. Except where otherwise indicated, content may be copied, printed and downloaded for private study, research and teaching purposes, and for use in non-commercial products or services, provided that appropriate acknowledgement of FAO as the source and copyright holder is given and that FAO's endorsement of users' views, products or services is not stated or implied in any way.

The purpose of this Act, consisting of 86 sections, divided into five Parts and completed by three Schedules, is to give effect to the deed of settlement, which is a deed that settles the historical claims that relate to the Maraeroa A and B blocks dated 12 March 2011. Part 1 provides for: the effect of the settlement on the jurisdiction of a court, tribunal, or other judicial body in respect of the historical claims; a consequential amendment to the Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975; the effect of the settlement on certain memorials; the exclusion of the law against perpetuities, the timing of actions or matters provided for in this Act, and access to the deed of settlement. Part 2 provides for cultural redress, including: cultural redress for which vesting of land is not required; the properties that are vested in the Maraeroa A and B Blocks Incorporation as cultural redress properties and provisions relevant to the vesting of those properties.Part 3 provides for the transfer of the licensed land to the Maraeroa A and B Blocks Incorporation and the payment of rentals to the Settlement Trust. Part 4 provides for access to protected sites. Part 5 includes provisions concerning the Māori Land Court’s jurisdiction in relation to the Settlement Trust and concerning the sale, gift, or lease of the protected land. The three Schedules deal with the following matters: describe the statutory areas (1); describe the overlay site (2); describe the cultural redress properties (3).

Authors and Publishers

Author(s), editor(s), contributor(s): 

Parliamentary Counsel Office


The Polynesian Maori reached New Zealand in about A.D. 800. In 1840, their chieftains entered into a compact with Britain, the Treaty of Waitangi, in which they ceded sovereignty to Queen Victoria while retaining territorial rights. That same year, the British began the first organized colonial settlement. A series of land wars between 1843 and 1872 ended with the defeat of the native peoples. The British colony of New Zealand became an independent dominion in 1907 and supported the UK militarily in both world wars.

Data provider

Share this page