Protected Areas Act 2011 (No. 14 of 2011). | Land Portal

Resource information

Date of publication: 
September 2011
Resource Language: 
ISBN / Resource ID: 
License of the resource: 
Copyright details: 
© FAO. FAO is committed to making its content freely available and encourages the use, reproduction and dissemination of the text, multimedia and data presented. Except where otherwise indicated, content may be copied, printed and downloaded for private study, research and teaching purposes, and for use in non-commercial products or services, provided that appropriate acknowledgement of FAO as the source and copyright holder is given and that FAO's endorsement of users' views, products or services is not stated or implied in any way.

This Act provides for the establishment of the Protected Areas Commission, the Protected Areas Trust and a Trust Fund and empowers the Minister to declare national protected areas. It applies to the territorial sea, exclusive economic zone, fishery zone and continental shelf as defined in the Maritime Zones Act 2010. The Act alos provides with respect to the National Protected Areas System and allows village councils to apply to the Commission for village lands or any part thereof to be recognised as an Amerindian protected area. The Act also provides with respect to management of protected areas. The main objective of the Act is the conservation of biological diversity, natural landscapes, seascapes and wetlands and ecosystem preservation. The Act sets out principles of ecologically sustainable development.The national protected areas system consists of — (a) the Kaieteur National Park; (b) the Programme Site of the Iwokrama International Centre for Rain Forest Conservation and Development; (c) national protected areas; (d) Amerindian protected areas approved under section 39; (e) Protected areas previously declared and urban parks including the Botanical Gardens and the Zoological Park; (f) privately managed protected areas recommended under section 26, and approved by the Minister. Objectives of the national protected areas system are defined. Amerindian protected areas shall be declared by the Minister on the request of the Commission and a village council. Protecting marine ecosystems and protecting freshwater ecosystems and important watersheds are mentioned as means to combat climate change.

Implemented by: Declaration of Kanashen Village as an Amerindian Protected Area. (2017)
Amends: National Parks Commission Act (Cap. 20:06). (1994)

Authors and Publishers


Originally a Dutch colony in the 17th century, by 1815 Guyana had become a British possession. The abolition of slavery led to settlement of urban areas by former slaves and the importation of indentured servants from India to work the sugar plantations. The resulting ethnocultural divide has persisted and has led to turbulent politics. Guyana achieved independence from the UK in 1966, and since then it has been ruled mostly by socialist-oriented governments. In 1992, Cheddi JAGAN was elected president in what is considered the country's first free and fair election since independence.

Data provider

Share this page