Te Kawerau ā Maki Claims Settlement Act 2015 (No. 75 of 2015). | Land Portal

Resource information

Date of publication: 
September 2015
Resource Language: 
ISBN / Resource ID: 
License of the resource: 
Copyright details: 
© FAO. FAO is committed to making its content freely available and encourages the use, reproduction and dissemination of the text, multimedia and data presented. Except where otherwise indicated, content may be copied, printed and downloaded for private study, research and teaching purposes, and for use in non-commercial products or services, provided that appropriate acknowledgement of FAO as the source and copyright holder is given and that FAO's endorsement of users' views, products or services is not stated or implied in any way.

The purpose of this Act, consisting of 207 sections, divided into four Parts and completed by six Schedules, is: to record in English and te reo Māori the acknowledgements and apology given by the Crown to Te Kawerau ā Maki in the deed of settlement; and to give effect to certain provisions of the deed of settlement that settles the historical claims of Te Kawerau ā Maki. Part 1 provides that the settlement of the historical claims is final; provides for: the effect of the settlement of the historical claims on the jurisdiction of a court, tribunal, or other judicial body in respect of the historical claims; a consequential amendment to the Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975; the effect of the settlement on certain memorials; the exclusion of the law against perpetuities; and access to the deed of settlement.Part 2 provides for cultural redress, including: cultural redress that does not involve the vesting of land, namely: protocols for Crown minerals and taonga tūturu on the terms set out in the documents schedule; a statutory acknowledgement by the Crown of the statements made by Te Kawerau ā Maki of their cultural, historical, spiritual, and traditional association with certain statutory areas and the effect of that acknowledgement, together with a deed of recognition for the specified area; the whenua rāhui applying to a certain area of land; the provision of official geographic names; and cultural redress requiring vesting in the trustees of the fee simple estate in certain cultural redress properties.Part 3 provides for commercial redress, including: in subpart 1, the transfer of the commercial redress property, deferred selection properties, and the Housing Block; in subpart 2, the licensed land redress; in subpart 3, the provision of access to protected sites; in subpart 4, the right of first refusal (RFR) redress. The 4 Schedules describe the following matters: statutory areas to which the statutory acknowledgement relates and for which a deed of recognition is issued (I); the whenua rāhui area to which the whenua rāhui applies (II); cultural redress properties (III); sets out provisions that apply to notices given in relation to RFR land (IV).

Authors and Publishers

Author(s), editor(s), contributor(s): 

Parliamentary Counsel Office


The Polynesian Maori reached New Zealand in about A.D. 800. In 1840, their chieftains entered into a compact with Britain, the Treaty of Waitangi, in which they ceded sovereignty to Queen Victoria while retaining territorial rights. That same year, the British began the first organized colonial settlement. A series of land wars between 1843 and 1872 ended with the defeat of the native peoples. The British colony of New Zealand became an independent dominion in 1907 and supported the UK militarily in both world wars.

Data provider

Share this page