Te Rarawa Claims Settlement Act 2015 (No. 79 of 2015). | Land Portal

Resource information

Date of publication: 
September 2015
Resource Language: 
ISBN / Resource ID: 
License of the resource: 
Copyright details: 
© FAO. FAO is committed to making its content freely available and encourages the use, reproduction and dissemination of the text, multimedia and data presented. Except where otherwise indicated, content may be copied, printed and downloaded for private study, research and teaching purposes, and for use in non-commercial products or services, provided that appropriate acknowledgement of FAO as the source and copyright holder is given and that FAO's endorsement of users' views, products or services is not stated or implied in any way.

The purpose of this Act, consisting of 235 sections, divided into three Parts and completed by six Schedules, is: to record the acknowledgements and apology given by the Crown to Te Rarawa in the deed of settlement; and to give effect to certain provisions of the deed of settlement that settles the historical claims of Te Rarawa. Part 1 sets out a summary of the historical account, and records the text of the acknowledgements and apology given by the Crown to Te Rarawa, as recorded in the deed of settlement; defines terms used in this Act, including key terms such as Te Rarawa and historical claims; provides that the settlement of the historical claims is final; provides for: the effect of the settlement of the historical claims on the jurisdiction of a court, tribunal, or other judicial body in respect of the historical claims; a consequential amendment to the Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975; the effect of the settlement on certain memorials; the exclusion of the law against perpetuities; and access to the deed of settlement.Part 2 provides for cultural redress, including: in subpart 1, cultural redress requiring vesting in the trustees of the fee simple estate in certain cultural redress properties; cultural redress that does not involve the vesting of land, namely: in subpart 2, provisions for the management of Te Oneroa-aTohe / Ninety Mile Beach in relation to the Te Oneroa-a-Tohe management area by the establishment of a Board, the appointment of hearing commissioners, and a requirement for a Beach management plan; in subpart 3, the korowai redress under which the Crown and Te Hiku o Te Ika iwi enter into co-governance arrangements over conservation land in the korowai area.Part 3 provides for commercial redress, including: in subpart 1, the transfer of commercial redress and deferred selection properties; in subpart 2, the licensed land redress; in subpart 3, the provision of access to protected sites; in subpart 4, the right of first refusal (RFR) redress. The 6 Schedules define the following matters: Lists the hapū of Te Rarawa (I): describes the cultural redress properties (II); describes Te Oneroa-a-Tohe redress (III); describes the korowai (IV); describes the statutory areas to which the statutory acknowledgement relates (V); sets out provisions that apply to notices given in relation to RFR land (VI).

Authors and Publishers

Author(s), editor(s), contributor(s): 

Parliamentary Counsel Office


The Polynesian Maori reached New Zealand in about A.D. 800. In 1840, their chieftains entered into a compact with Britain, the Treaty of Waitangi, in which they ceded sovereignty to Queen Victoria while retaining territorial rights. That same year, the British began the first organized colonial settlement. A series of land wars between 1843 and 1872 ended with the defeat of the native peoples. The British colony of New Zealand became an independent dominion in 1907 and supported the UK militarily in both world wars.

Data provider

Share this page