Hineuru Claims Settlement Act 2016 (No. 33 of 2016). | Land Portal

Resource information

Date of publication: 
July 2016
Resource Language: 
ISBN / Resource ID: 
License of the resource: 
Copyright details: 
© FAO. FAO is committed to making its content freely available and encourages the use, reproduction and dissemination of the text, multimedia and data presented. Except where otherwise indicated, content may be copied, printed and downloaded for private study, research and teaching purposes, and for use in non-commercial products or services, provided that appropriate acknowledgement of FAO as the source and copyright holder is given and that FAO's endorsement of users' views, products or services is not stated or implied in any way.

The purpose of this Act, consisting of 135 sections, divided into three Parts and completed by four Schedules, is: to record in English and te reo Māori the acknowledgements and apology given by the Crown to Hineuru in the deed of settlement; and to give effect to certain provisions of the deed of settlement that settles the historical claims of Hineuru. Part 1 provides for: the effect of the settlement of the historical claims on the jurisdiction of a court, tribunal, or other judicial body in respect of the historical claims; a consequential amendment to the Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975; the effect of the settlement on certain memorials; the exclusion of the law against perpetuities; and access to the deed of settlement.Part 2 provides for cultural redress, including cultural redress that does not involve the vesting of land, namely: a requirement that the Minister of Conservation, the Director-General, and the trustees enter into Te Kawenata; protocols for Crown minerals and taonga tūturu on the terms set out in the documents schedule; a statutory acknowledgement by the Crown of the statements made by Hineuru of their cultural, historical, spiritual, and traditional association with certain statutory areas and the effect of that acknowledgement, together with deeds of recognition for the specified areas; Te Korowai o Te Hā applying to certain areas of land, etc.Part 3 provides for commercial redress, including: in subpart 1, the transfer of land; in subpart 2, the arrangements for licensed land; in subpart 3, ensuring the right of access to protected sites; in subpart 4, a right of first refusal. The 4 Schedules describe the following matters: statutory areas to which the statutory acknowledgement relates and, in some cases, for which deeds of recognition are issued (I); the Te Korowai o Te Hā areas to which Te Korowai o Te Hā applies (II); the cultural redress properties (III); sets out provisions that apply to notices given in relation to RFR land (IV).

Authors and Publishers

Author(s), editor(s), contributor(s): 

Parliamentary Counsel Office


The Polynesian Maori reached New Zealand in about A.D. 800. In 1840, their chieftains entered into a compact with Britain, the Treaty of Waitangi, in which they ceded sovereignty to Queen Victoria while retaining territorial rights. That same year, the British began the first organized colonial settlement. A series of land wars between 1843 and 1872 ended with the defeat of the native peoples. The British colony of New Zealand became an independent dominion in 1907 and supported the UK militarily in both world wars.

Data provider

Share this page